2018 Senior Wrap Up around the Downs


After coming to an end for the 2018 Senior Competitions all the Clubs around the Downs have hosted their annual awards night to reflect on their 2018 Campaigns, celebrating their highs and building on their lows, each club has rewarded a number of players for the dedication and value they had to the team or club throughout the year with annual awards being held over weekends gone by. Keep an eye out for the St George Frillnecks award winners with the club hosting their awards night while also celebrating 35 years of 'The Frillies' this Friday Night at the St George Golf Club. 

The Echidnas held a wonderful at awards night at the renowned 'Ants Nest' that was well attended by the local community, Congratulations to The Roma Echidnas trophy recipients for 2018:

A Grade Players Player: Aj Riley & Nathan Garvie
A Grade Best & Fairest: Jack Hannah
Ladies 7’s Players Player: Brittney Smith
Ladies 7’s Best & Fairest: Reeghyn Beardmore

The USQ Rugby Club Awards Dinner was well attended. The Ladies team were recognised for their achievements of the 2018 Minor Premiership, Gary Briscoe was made a club Life Member and Player of the Year was awarded to USQ Back Chris Little.

While at the Toowoomba Bears Rugby Union Club awards night in A Grade Captain Nicholas Hewett picked up Player's Player while Aaron Palmer received Player of the Year, with Women's going back to back Premiers retaining the Emily Cherry Cup; Jordanna Ackland picked up the Player of the Year award. Long time member of the Toowoomba Bears Mick Jarroush was inducted as a life member. 

Rangers had a large awards night and celebrated a successful season finishing third in A Grade and C Grade making it into the finals series, Ranger 2018 award recipients;  

A Grade: 
Best and Fairest: Robert Patterson 
Players Player: Matt Bougoure

B Grade: 
Best and Fairest: Tim Vale 
Players Player: Caleb Brown

C Grade: 

Best and Fairest: Kyel MacLachlan 
Players Player: Neil MacLachlan


Players Player: Ebony Hicks 
Holmes Smash Repairs MVP: Chloe Crothers

While at the Downs Rugby Awards night long time member of the Rangers club Danny Wiedman won the 2018 Ken Long Volunteer of the year. 

The mighty Condamine Cods celebrated their 20th reunion last Saturday night hosted a the famous 'Fish Tank', past and present members of the club reflected and celebrated the success of the club over the 20 years along with the 2018 awards winners being announced.

Players Player: Roger Geldard and David Keys 

Top Cod: James Guest 

Top Codette: Bonnie Penfold 

Goondiwindi Emu's celebrated the 2018 season in style at their awards night after retaining the B Grade Premiership while A Grade went through an undefeated season to claim the 'Risdon Cup' on Grand Final Day.  

 A Grade:

Best and Fairest: Levi Power

Best Back: Harry Hawker

Best Forward: Lachie Tulloch

In Gatton flanker Peter Harding claimed the Best and Fairest award while QLD Country representative Todd Daniels was crowned Blackpigs 2018 Player of the Year. 

While out west at the St George Golf Club the Frillies celebrated 35 years in style and with a large turn out coming into to celebrate a successful season. The Fillies celebrated a successful season from the late Corey Skews who picked up Most Improved Back while his Jersey was framed in remembrance of a talented young player. In other major awards; 

Players Player - Tom Sandow
Holy Grail - Max Hemming

While Coach and President Ben Gardiner was rewarded for his commitment and passion for the Frillies being inducted as a Life Member. 

Congratulations to everyone who received awards for their respective clubs and well done on a successful 2018 season. 


FK Gardner & Sons