Awards Night Wrap Up


Downs Rugby's 2017 Awards Night in Review

Downs Rugby hosted our Annual Awards Night on Saturday, recognising our outstanding players, volunteers and clubs. Some members of our Rugby community go above and beyond in their duties and these clubs and people have been acknowledged at our Awards Night to ensure their efforts do not go unnoticed. The following recipients were awarded for their efforts in commemoration of those who served the Downs Rugby community in the past. 

The Mal Eiby medal is awarded to the best and fairest player in the Senior competition voted on a 321 basis by the referees each week. Dalby captain, Sam Hogarth, took out this award by a considerable margin, finishing 7 points ahead of the 3 players tying for the runners up spot. Sam has been a devout Wheatmen for many years and has also represented Downs Rugby and the Queensland Country Heelers in the past making him a decorated player of the Downs community and more than deserving of this reward.

The individual player honours of the Senior's continued as the top points scorer and top try scorer which have been awarded to 2 young men who have had an outstanding season. Daniel Merker, the Dalby Wheatmen flyhalf, was awarded with the top points scorer after another stellar season with the boot claiming his second top points award in two years. Lachlan Sperling, the Toowoomba Rangers fullback, was awarded as the top try scorer, as the  crossing over the line 19 times in his debut A Grade season.

Dalby were crowned club champions, as the club with the highest aggregate points in A,B and C Grade, and also took home the Ambulance Shield, presented by the referees for the club with the most spirit.

The volunteer of the year award is named in honour of the late Ken Long, and acknowledges the valued efforts of the volunteers among our rugby community. Mike Dillon was awarded with this being a Goondiwindi Emu player, manager, scrum doctor and life member; Downs Rugby Colts Coach, teenage committee member, high performance committee member and many more formal roles in the community across his life in Rugby. Mike is a valued member of both the Goondiwindi Emus and Downs Rugby after his many years of service to the sport of Rugby, and a fitting recipient of the award, named after on of his great mates.

The Ross Krebs award is also nominated by the clubs to acknowledge the commitment of our referees who put in the effort to govern our games week in and out. Greg Neilson is a member of the DDRRA who is regularly seen around all parts of the region refereeing the game across all levels and age groups. Greg's time and effort does not go unnoticed and the whole community recognises the wonderful and valued commitment that he puts in each week and we thank him for this.

Toowoomba Bears were awarded the Junior Club of the year, after an unprecedented growth in junior participation, and success in Teenage boys and girls Rugby.  

Lachlan Sperling also capped of his successful season being named the Colts rep player of the year, and Goondiwindi's Jack Cook was awarded the senior rep player of the year.

FK Gardner & Sons