Colts look to continue SQ success


The Darling Downs Colts Representative side has had an exceptional few seasons, winning the South QLD Championships 3 years in a row, holding the Border Shield (DD V CNRU) for the past 3 years and the Ergon Cup (DD V CQ) for the past 2. This weekend the side will be looking to make it a '4-peat' when they travel to Noosa to take on Gold Coast and Sunshine Coast in the 2017 South Queensland Championships.

With the lack of a Downs Rugby colts fixture, the coaching team of Mike Dillon and Cameron Littleton have done an exceptional job over the past 4 years of not only ensuring Darling Downs have a team on the paddock, but also being able to create a successful and healthy culture amongst the playing group.

Dillon says the success has come from "a very simple and basic game plan, due to the lack of time the squad is able to train together, keeping it simple allows every player to understand their role. This also allows the boys to have some flexibility in the style of play to allow their natural talent to flourish"

Both Dillon and Littleton agree that this U19 pathway is crucial to bridging the gap between teenage and senior Rugby at club level, and allows the boys who have begun playing senior Rugby in the Downs the opportunity to play against the best in the age group.

The Darling Downs senior side has also benefited greatly from the U19's success, with a large portion of the current rep squad having been involved in the colts program over the past 4 years.

South Queensland Championships

Saturday 20th May- 

Colts - Darling Downs V Gold Coast - 3.30pm

Seniors - Darling Downs V Gold Coast -5pm

Sunday 21st May

Colts - Darling Downs V Sunshine Coast - 1.30pm

Seniors - Darling Downs V Sunshine Coast -3pm

DD Colts Representative Side

Coach: Mike Dillon

A/Coach: Cameron Littleton

Manager: Bill McNaughton

Trainer: Mick Jarroush

Adam Berthelsen
Hugh Brosnan
Clayton Clinch
Daniel Cover
Nat Currie
Carson Dehnert
Jed Eglington
Rohan Gale
Joe Gilbert
Sam Hackett
Darien Jackson
Joe Klein
Carel Lubbe
Lachy McKechnie
Lorman Tafa Milo
John-Jon Pok
Luke Price
Jakeb Rice
Hahns Spierling
Lachie Sperling
Marshall Smith
Josh Tonkin
Will Walton

FK Gardner & Sons