Meron Crowned Best In 2018


Saturday's Downs Rugby Awards Night saw Goondiwindi back rower Yoni Meron storm home to take out the 2018 Mal Eiby medal by 1 point, edging out fellow team mate Levi Power in the final round of voting.

Power had held the lead for the 17 of the 18 rounds, however 3 best on ground performances from the final 4 rounds saw Meron surge to the top of the leader board leaving Power with the 2nd spot two years running. 

Goondiwindi took out the club champions trophy, after winning the A and B Grade minor premiers, Chinchilla took home the C Grade Minor Premiers whilst USQ took out the Women's Sevens minor premiers trophy. 

The presentation was a special night for Downs Rugby, inducted its first life member since the amalgamation of the DDRU and DDJRU a number of years ago. Pat Brown, the inaugural chairman of Downs Rugby was awarded the life membership, recognising his work and efforts in bringing together the junior and senior administrations.  

Toowoomba Rangers stalwart Danny Weidman was awarded the Ken Long Award for volunteer of the year, being recognised for over 20 years of service to the club. 

The Highfields Rugby Club was rewarded for their great administration and growth in participation numbers and expansion into girls rugby, and were duly awarded with the Junior Club of the Year.

A full list of award winners are below.

Wagners Risdon Cup Top Try Scorer - Tom Jobling (Goondiwindi)

Womens 7s Top Try Scorer - Bonnie Penfold (Condamine)

Wagners Risdon Cup Top Point Scorer - Will Gilbert (Goondiwindi)

Womens 7s Top Point Scorer - Bonnie Penfold (Condamine)

Senior Rep Player of the Year - Will Gilbert (Goondiwindi)

Colts Rep Player of the Year - Clayton Clinch (Rangers)

Ken Long Award - Danny Weidman (Rangers)

Ross Krebs Memorial - Scott Lindblom

Ambulance Shield - Condamine 

Club Champions - Goondiwindi

A Grade Minor Premiers - Goondiwindi

Womens 7s Minor Premiers - USQ

B Grade Minor Premiers - Goondiwindi

C Grade Minor Premiers - Chinchilla 

FK Gardner & Sons